DIY: Glitter Gloves

IMG_3107

Back in January, I went to DC with some friends on a very chilly weekend. While packing, I couldn’t find a single pair of my favorite gloves. Not one. The only thing I could find in my house were a pair of black gloves from Target, the kind that come in packs of 2 for $3. To jazz them up, I used some craft paint and loved the results! One of the cheapest DIYs out there.

Materials:

1 pair of gloves ($3 at Target)

1 bottle of craft paint, any color ($2 at Michael’s)

1 paintbrush

The Process:

IMG_3095

1. Pick a design for your gloves. I went with a simple bow outline. Remember, you’ll be painting this on and the material doesn’t exactly allow for perfectly crisp lines.

IMG_3097

2. Once you have the design, trace an outline onto each glove. I used a piece of chalk so that what didn’t get painted over would come off easily.  I feel silly even saying this but make sure you trace on the correct side of your gloves so that you’ll have a right and a left glove. Some of us (HINT: ME) may have gotten confused at this step.

2. Insert a scrap piece of paper into each glove to prevent the paint from bleeding through.

3. Start painting! I used Tulip Soft Glitter fabric paint in Gold. It took 3 coats to make my bows nice and glittery. The quality is awesome. I haven’t noticed the paint flecking off or splitting at all.

4. Allow several hours for your gloves to dry. I waited overnight before trying mine on.

5. Go outside and enjoy having warm hands!

Leave a Reply

