DIY Drawer Pulls

A funny thing happened last fall. I dragged my dresser out to my front porch to spray paint it around 11 pm, pulling the door closed behind me. Then I remembered that the door was locked from the inside and both roommates were out of the state for the weekend. Panic ensued but luckily a friend had a spare key to let me in. Fortunately waiting on her to arrive at my house gave me some time to paint the dresser and more importantly, the knobs.

Materials Needed:

Wooden Knobs (sold in bags at Michaels), $5-10 depending on how many you need

Spray Paint ($3 at Wal-Mart)

Screws for when you’re all finished ($2-4 at Lowe’s or Home Depot)

The Process:

IMG_0057

1. Lay all of your knobs flat on a piece of cardboard or plastic to prevent paint from going everywhere.

IMG_1996

2. Spray the knobs as well as you can with the spray paint. My knobs were too round to cover perfectly well the first round. This is where spray paint comes in handy since it dries to the touch in 15 minutes or so.

3. Let the knobs dry for a few minutes and then add a second coat as needed.

IMG_2006

4. Allow the knobs to dry for several hours to ensure they’re completely dry. Add the knobs to your dresser and call it a day!

Notes:

+You can use regular paint and brush if you’d like. That’s what I did the first time I did this project. I didn’t like the way mine turned out and it took much longer to actually get every knob painted. Spray paint may be  messier but it’ll save you some valuable time.

IMG_0063     IMG_1139

+ Another fun idea if you’re into the geometric look is to paint the knobs and cover half of each one with painters tape. Then paint the other side a funky color. Boom! Instant edginess for your dresser.

Leave a Reply

