Makeup + Routines

Abby has long been a friend of mine and her writing never ceases to amaze. Today on her blog, she shared her opinions on makeup and it was thrilling to see her routine and beauty favorites. It reminded me of a friend last week who said anytime she has guests staying with her, she likes to secretly try their shampoo. So Abby, thanks for letting me metaphorically try your shampoo.

Screen shot 2014-03-18 at 12.40.06 PM

Much like Abby, I’m willing to splurge on a good moisturizer but eye makeup is where a  drugstore find comes in handy. Or at least, it used to be. Now I’m always tempted to buy Benefit’s They’re Real mascara. It’s amazing and doesn’t flake off. In fact, it usually takes nothing short of a small makeup-removing-cotton-ball army to properly rid my lashes of it.

Some of my other favorites include Nars blush in Orgasm (embarrassing name, beautiful hue), Make Up For Ever Rouge Artist Natural Lipstick in N9 Copper Pink, Klorane dry shampoo, and Snow Drop Hand Cream in Winter Vanilla. At the top of my list are these $7 tinted lip balms from Burt’s Bees. They pack a lot of hydration with the perfect amount of sheer color.

P.S. I’m totally loving the Vanity Project series on Bleubird right now, pairing illustration and beauty routines.

4 thoughts on “Makeup + Routines

  1. I’d love to try the Benefit mascara, there’s so much internet blogosphere hype surrounding it! But if you ever return to the drugstore for mascara, Maybelline’s the rocket is amazing too. And Orgasm is a great name, what do you mean 😉

  2. Aw, thanks, dear! I also use my host’s shampoo, basically every time (unless I’m at the Pratt’s, because they still have G and W’s high-school-era Suave shampoo/conditioner bottle). The NARS blush is on my to-try list! Everyone raves about it being the perfect universal shade. And no joke, that Klorane dry shampoo stuff is amazing (Birchbox sample, right??). xoxo

Leave a Reply

